Mission Olympics Cell to accelerate India’s progress in Olympics.

Mission Olympics Cell to accelerate India’s progress in Olympics.
Mission Olympics Cell to accelerate India’s progress in Olympics.

Sports Ministry doubles the number of former international athletes in Mission Olympics Cell (MOC) to accelerate India’s progress in Olympics. Ex Athletes to steer India’s Preparation of Olympics, Mission Olympics Cell revamped.

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has doubled the number of former athletes as core members of the revamped Mission Olympic Cell (MOC) to make it even more athlete-centric than it has been so far. MOC drives India’s Olympics Preparation through the Target Olympics Podium (TOPS) initiative of the Ministry. This has been done to accelerate India’s progress on the global sports stage.

Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Anurag Singh Thakur said the decision was driven by the experience gained in the last Olympic cycle. 'The inputs by former athletes in the incumbent MOC played a significant role in supporting the training and competition of the athletes who competed in Tokyo 2020 and won   7 medals & 19 in Para Olympic Games,' he said.

The new MOC will now include former India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia, World Athletics Championships Long Jump medallist Anju Bobby George, former India hockey captain Sardara Singh, rifle shooting legend Anjali Bhagwat, former hockey captain and CEO Olympic Gold Quest Viren Rasquinha table tennis star Monalisa Mehta and badminton ace Trupti Burgundy.

ALSO READ:  Cabinet Secretary holds a meeting of NCMC for the impending cyclone

Olympian sailor and sports science specialist Dr. Malav Shroff will continue to be in the MOC. President Athletics Federation of India Shri Adile Sumeriwala, President Athletic Federation of India, and CEO TOPS Cmde Pushpendra Garg are other former players in the MOC.  Shri Arjun Munda, Cabinet Minister, Shri Ajay Singh & Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh by virtue of President of Archery Association of India, Boxing Federation of India & Wrestling Federation of India will be part of the MOC.

Mission Olympic Cell: Baichung Bhutia, Anju Bobby George, Anjali Bhagwat, Trupti Murgunde, Sardara Singh, Viren Rasquinha, Malav Shroff, Monalisa Mehta, Presidents of Indian Olympic Association, Wrestling Federation of India, Archery Association of India and Boxing Federation of India, Executive Director (TEAMS), SAI; Director (Sports), MYAS; CEO, TOPS (Convenor) and Joint CEO, TOPS (Co-convenor).

ALSO READ: World AIDS Day is celebrated on

Post a Comment

Thanks for messaging us.

Previous Post Next Post



Mega Offer